Life

Why????

Sitting here in the safe surroundings of my home all I can do is shake my head as I just don’t understand.

Here in Australia we don’t have the right to bear arms……thankfully. I’m not saying we have no gun crime, we do and unfortunately it is on a slow increase. For us a large number of these offences are being committed with illegal guns. We have very responsible gun owners who use their weapons as part of a sport……in our country, that sport does not include killing people randomly.

I am sure there are thousands of responsible gun owners in the US and for those I mean no disrespect. However, the ease of which guns can be obtained and used by so many is frightening.

I don’t pretend to have the answers, it’s impossible for me to think I could possibly give answers for something I can’t comprehend.

One thing I do understand are the statistics show that the majority of these incidents are being perpetrated by people of all ages, but mostly by younger citizens with a strong mental disorder/illness.

The friends and family of these citizens would know they have mental health problems. No one believes their loved one is capable of such a thing, but you are aware nonetheless. Pay attention, watch, listen to what is happening in your life but more importantly what’s happening in theirs. Make it your business to keep yourself, them and others safe.

If you have guns in your house, for goodness sake lock them up and keep young, old and disturbed from accessing them.

Make the process of purchasing a firearm even more difficult. Background checks need to be more thorough…..if the purchaser is under 25, add a parental checklist to that background check. I couldn’t care less if that encroaches another’s rights…….if it can help prevent another senseless shooting, then it has got to be worth it.

I know the US has already limited the types of guns that can be purchased and I’m also not that naive to think that guns don’t fall into the hands of the wrong people. But something HAS to change.

I do not have any interest in US politics but I can’t help but feel for Barak Obama……he is pleading for change and he has been since he took office, he is truly tired and saddened by the senseless loss of innocent lives.

Guns don’t kill people, people kill people????

True…..

But if those people were unable to get their hands so easily on a gun…….less lives would surely be lost. I find it such a contradiction………as a nation, Americans vocally mourn the loss of lives every time this happens……yet they still believe the gun laws are ok. Under the constitution that is their right…..but that doesn’t make it right.

How many is too many to make a difference? Unless the laws change it will just continue.

It’s in your hands America……what will you do?

πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡ΈπŸ”«πŸ’”

I'd love to hear from you, any feedback will be most appreciated.

