Life

Out there……

Vulnerability……. We are all capable of it. Some people try to hide it by using a false bravado, either because they are frightened of others reactions or simply because they are frightened in general.

When you drop that cover you are open to all sorts of attack.

Hurt, rejection, ridicule, hostility ……..

Kindness, sharing, acceptance, even love.

Intersting that I classed all of the above as attacks. To some people they all are.

When you allow people in, accept love and kindness you then lay yourself bare for rejection, ridicule and hurt. Seems like a vicious cycle doesn’t it? It can be, but that’s called living.

You can’t spend your life hiding away to protect your feelings and then complain that you have no one and nothing in your life. It doesn’t work that way. Everyone, no matter their position, title, age or accomplishments has a vulnerability that they keep mostly to themselves. That little backpack we all carry around of fear.

Gentle souls need encouragement and to build trust. Some of the most accomplished people I know are unsure of what they are doing from time to time….but they do it anyway. Do they fail? Sometimes. But it doesn’t stop them from trying again and again. These are the people that have grown their wings and fly.

I am more vulnerable now at 50 than I ever was at 20,30 or 40. Much more careful and selective with who I share my life with. My biggest vulnerability is my heart. It’s big, bold and bruises much easier these days. My biggest weakness is I care. Too much and too deeply. It is also this ‘weakness’ that has attracted some of the most wonderful people to me.

Make no doubt, if I let you in it’s because you deserve to be there. I surround myself closely with people I can trust and give more to me than I will probably ever deserve. These people lift me up when I’m down, put me in my place when I need it and support my goals and dreams.

I had a simple goal when I started this journey……to make someone smile at least once a day. In that I hope I succeed. Also to encourage people to take a step outside their own comfort zone and take a chance. It may be in your business or career. Maybe your wish to do something you’ve always wanted to do. Or maybe just open up to others and let them in.

Life is a journey, we are not meant to meander along in the shadows but to step out in the sunshine and live it to the fullest. Take chances, do something different, tell people how you feel about them, what have you got to lose?

As always, be kind to yourself and others.

πŸŒ™β­οΈπŸ’›

 

 

 

I'd love to hear from you, any feedback will be most appreciated.

